Side Kick

Posted: July 16, 2010 in Uncategorized

As I was driving last night, I looked over to my left and there was an absolutely beautiful sunset (photo to follow).

The photographer in me immediately said, “Wow, that would be a beautiful photo.” I debated with myself for a moment (since I was in a bit of a hurry) and decided that I couldn’t pass it up. The next thought that crossed my mind was, “Do I have my camera?” I usually don’t carry it with me, but I was lucky that I had decided to bring it with me that night.

The sun was bright, the sky was colorful, and the timing was perfect.

When I was looking to buy my first DSLR, I was told not to get caught up in the differences in specs between Nikons and Canons, but focus on the how it feels it feels in your hand. If it’s not enjoyable to shoot with, you’re not going to want to shoot. At the time, it made sense, but I was still focused on getting the biggest and best for my money.

Over the past several months, I’ve realized, “Why have a camera if you are not going to shoot anything with it.” So what I tell people is get a camera that you enjoy shooting with and get a nice bag/case so you feel comfortable bringing it places.

I’m not going to lie, I have had times where I didn’t bring my camera because I was worried something might happen to it, and then as soon as I got there I was upset with myself for passing up some great shooting opportunities. The only time I would recommend not bringing your camera is if you are going Scuba diving (unless you’ve invested in some nice underwater gear).

If you are like me, getting a fantastic shot is such an amazing feeling.  So make your camera your side kick… bring it with you all the time. If it’s not getting use then you are really wasting your money, but if you use it everyday and after a year something happens to it, your photographs have paid for your camera.

Be adventurous, be bold, and be creative. Happy shooting!

Leave a Reply

